20 agosto 2008

Steely Dan - Two Against Nature DVD-2000- {DivX}

    En 2000 Steely Dan grabaron el disco "Two Against Nature", el cual supuso la vuelta al estudio de Donald Fagen Y Walter Becket después de 20 años 
{dejando a un lado el par de discos que sacó Donal Fagen en solitario, que no dejan de sonar a Steely Dan}
    Este DVD es la actuación que hicieron en "Sony Studios" en Enero del 2000
 Steely Dan - Two Against Nature DVD-2000- {DivX}

    In 2000, they released their first studio album in twenty years, Two Against Nature. It was not only a return to form but proved to be one of the surprise successes of the year, and in February 2001, it earned them four Grammy Awards. They won in the categories for Best Engineered Album - Non-Classical, Best Pop Vocal Album, Best Pop Performance by Duo or Group with Vocal (Cousin Dupree), and Album of the Year. Their win for Album of the Year came as a shock as they defeated Eminem and his highly controversial album The Marshall Mathers LP. In March 2001, Steely Dan was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. In the summer of 2000, they took to the road for another US tour followed by an international tour later that year.
A DVD was also released under the same title, which is essentially a live-in-the-studio concert performance of popular tunes from throughout Steel
The movie features interview and documentary footage as well as Steely Dan's live performance at Sony Studios in January, 2000.
The material hews to the group's later albums recorded after they downsized the band into a de facto studio laboratory and dialed up the jazz accents, with understandable showcases for the sneaky new songs on the Two Against Nature album: sleek, seductive songs about incest, midlife crises, pyromania, designer drugs, and other fun stuff.
Sonically, the performances are as meticulously recorded and mixed as the duo's albums, with the performance footage beautifully shot and edited. We'd knock director Earle Sebastian for a few too many tilted camera angles, but then we might have to wait another 19 years for the next one.
Sam Sutherland

Track List:
01 - program start
02 - green earrings
03 - cousin dupree
04 - bad sneakers
05 - janie runaway
06 - josie
07 - fm
08 - gaslighting abbie
09 - black friday
10 - babylon sisters
11 - kid charlrmagne
12 - jack of speed
13 - peg
14 - what a shame about me
15 - pretzel logic; end credits
All Music and Lyrics by
Walter Becker and Donald Fagen
The Band:
Donald Fagen: Piano keyboards and vocal
Walter Becker: Guitar
Ted Baker: Piano
Ricky Lawson: Drums
Tom Barney: Bass
John Herington: Guitar
Cornelius Bumpus and Chris Potter: Saxophones
Michael Leonhart: Trumpet
Jim Pugh: Trombone
Carolyn Leonhart,      Cynthia Calhoun     and      Victoria Cave:     Vocals

Directed by Earle Sebastian     Produced by Joel Hinman